Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation for Masters in Economics LSE

pocketecon

Hello, I am interested in the 2 year MSC Economics Program at LSE. My goal is to pursue a PhD thereafter. These are my profile details.

Undergraduate: NYU Stern

Majors: Finance and Mathematics (double degree)

GPA: 3.83/4.00 (summa cum laude)

Math GPA: 3.95/4.00

Math Coursework: Analysis I, Algebra I, Probability and Statistics, ODE, Linear Algebra, Calc 1-3

Econ Coursework: Economics of Global Business, Microeconomics

(grades are A+ in everything except for A in Analysis)

Honors Thesis: Did a year long thesis under the selective Honors Thesis program

Postgraduate: IIM A/B/C (top 3 MBA program in India)

GPA: 6.92/9.00

Coursework: Microeconomics, Macroeconomics, Econometrics (A in Micro and Macro and B in Econometrics)

GRE: Q: 168 V: 162

LORs: Weak (will get them from my postgraduate professors who don't know me that well plus its been 2 years since I graduated)

Work Experience: 2 years in family business in commodity trading

Target Programs (in order of preference):

1. LSE MSc Economics

2. UCL MSc Economics

Are my credentials sufficient to give a shot at LSE MSC econ ? I plan to apply by December end this year. Will that be too late? Should I wait out a year and work on some of the weak areas such as LORs?

Full disclosure: Everything I'm about to say is based off of dozens of past applicant profiles I've seen and their respective admission reports.

1) It seems like your undergrad grades won't be an issue for any school, nor will your GRE (Although getting at least a 4.5 on AWA is pretty important). I don't know much about the grading system in India but from all accounts it seems stricter than the US, as I'm sure programs are aware of.