Urch Forums

Chance to prove your forecasting skills and predict my outcomes

SebastianECON

As suggested by tm_member I'll post my profile and schools. In April I'll tell you guys how I did.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: Economics, Top Colombian University (Javeriana) (500 globally)

Undergrad GPA: 3.46/4.00

Type of Grad: M.A. in Economics, Javeriana

Grad GPA: 3.91/4.00

GRE: Q: 167 V: 161 AWA:3

Math Courses:

-Real Analysis (A) As a grad I took some analysis to compensate for my poor math grades as an undergrad

-I got C's in 4 math undergrad courses

-I got A's in 2 undergrad courses

Econ Courses (grad-level):

I got A's in all of my grad econ courses.

Econ Courses (undergrad-level):

I got A's in all of my undergrad econ courses.

Other Courses: I didn't include other coursework on my applications.

Letters of Recommendation:

Economics Dean at my University (Ph.D. from Brown)

Economics Professor at my University (Ph.D. from NYU)

Researcher at the Central Bank (Ph.D. from Cornell))

Research Experience:

Solo paper in Economics Systems (JCR 1.2 Impact Factor)

Co-authored paper in International Finance (JCR 1.2 Impact Factor)

Co-authored paper in Economics Systems (JCR 0.6 Impact Factor)

Co-authored paper in a Scopus Journal

Co-authored paper in a national journal

One working paper

One co-authored book chapter

Teaching Experience: None

Research Interests: Monetary Policy, Finance, Macroeconomics

SOP:

I write to express my interest in pursuing an Economics Ph.D. at X. This is a necessary step to accomplish my long-term objective of producing first-rate economic research. I am particularly interested in the intersection of the fields of finance and monetary policy.