Urch Forums

Princeton vs Chicago [Macro]

Darken

Hi everyone!

I'm an international student and I have received admission to both program. I'm mainly interested in monetary economics, New Dynamic Public Finance and heterogeneous-agents Macro so it seems to be a choice between two luxury goods. However, if Chicago's reputation is somewhat frightening, I had the sentiment that the department is now on the rise with the arrival of Kaplan and Golosov (even if Princeton has replaced them well with Violante and Jarosch). Furthermore, in terms of placements both departments seem comparable.

Am I missing something ?

Thank you in advance!

I recently spoke to someone who knows about Chicago and they confirmed what I have heard regarding the inattention to students. I forget if I asked about attrition. My impression from the conversation was choose someplace else unless you are very independent.

You should visit both if you can. I will be going to the visit day at Chicago so if you don't make it I can let you know what I learn.

This is a tough question, but my short answer is Princeton.

Both departments are going through serious fluidity right now and hiring junior faculty aggressively. Let's do a bean count, focusing on your fields:

Chicago you mentioned Golosov and Kaplan and, uh, that's kind of it. Add in Stokey for being reportedly a good adviser (with work in monetary) and obligatorily Shimer for Labor. The people you're looking for are actually in Chicago Booth: Vavra, Winberry, maybe Weber and Guerrieri (since you're interested in search theory too?)

Princeton Brunnermeier and Sims in monetary, but unsure how approachable those two are. Het. macro you have Violante, Ben Moll, Arlene Wong (mostly), with Jarosch and Rogerson more in the macro-labor/search tradition.