Urch Forums

Profile evaluation - Economics PhD

poli95

Hi there,

Profile:

Indian Student

Undergraduate: Business - Not well known outside home country

Percentage - 75% - Not great but not so bad.

Post Graduate Diploma - Economics - Top 5 Economics depts UK

Percentage - Distinction

Masters - Economics - Top 5 Economics depts UK

Percentage - Distinction

Math and Econ Covered - Linear Algebra, Calculus, Advanced Micro, Advanced Macro, Advanced Econometrics.

Post Graduate Diploma - Mathematics - Kings College London (Pursuing)

Percentage - Distinction (Expecting)

Math topics covered - Partial Diff Eq, Real analysis, Complex Analysis, Topology, Probability theory, Stochastic analysis, Non Linear Analysis, Fourier Analysis etc

Research Experience - Worked with a Macro professor at the UK uni at which i did my MSc as a summer intern in area of interest. Can get a good reference from him - he did his PhD at one of the top 5 US unis

GRE - Q/V/AWA - 166/154/4.5

Research Interests: International Macro, Labour economics, Macroconometrics, Monetary (Still not sure which one i will pursue)

My goal is to apply to the top 30 Economics PhD programmes. I am worried that i dont have a solid undergraduate foundation in Economics and have learned all of my basics through post graduate diplomas. Though i have a masters in Economics i am scared that adcoms might see my undergrad major and reject me. Also worried about my GRE Quant. I am planning to do an MSc in Mathematics after the Diploma in Maths, however i am ready to work as an RA for a while if necessary.

Is there something i can do to improve my chances of getting into the top30 US Econ programmes.

Please guide me.... :eager:

Thanks a lot in advance.....