Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation: Fall 2019 Canadian/UK PhD Admission (Thanks in advance!:)

Andrea93

Dear all,

I am studying Economics in Germany and interested in pursuing a Ph.D. in Canada or UK. Considering my weak background, I have been somehow hesitating. I sincerely ask for your help and I would greatly appreciate any advice you may raise here!

Profile:

Undergrad: 3.05/4.0 --- Not well-known financial college

Grad: Currently is around B-/C+, but it is continuously increasing after the first semester, so an overall grade of B/B+ later would be likely --- One of the top German universities in Economics

Interest in: Managerial Econ/Organizational behavior/Business Analysis

GRE: Q-165 / V-148 (It seems to be expired based on many programs requirement of within 2 years, so I will refresh it)

Math Courses:

Calculus I&II --- 15ECTS

Linear Algebra --- 3ECTS

Probability and Statistics --- 4.5ECTS

Statistics --- 4.5ECTS

Average Grade: 76%

Econ Courses:

Macroeconomics & Advanced Macroeconomics I --- 13ECTS

Microeconomics & Advanced Microeconomics I --- 14.5ECTS

Advanced Econometrics --- 10ECTS

Applied Time Series --- 8ECTS

Labor Market Search --- 6ECTS

Development Econ --- 6ECTS

Communication --- 6ECTS

Management Research --- 6ECTS

Average Grade: 73%

Next Semester Econ Courses:

Compensation --- 6ECTS

Topics in Applied Econ --- 10ECTS

Mathematical methods for Econ --- 10ECTS

Other backgrounds:

1. No research experience, only one short research paper (18 pages) for an optional course with full grade and one research thesis in behavioral econ topics(empirical).

2. References: 1 to 2 out of 3 referees may be strong recommendations (at least my supervisor would).

3. Programming skills: Matlab; Stata.

Goal: An okay program with certain scholarship (e.g. tuition waived) or A good program with the self-financed condition and potential scholarship after the first year.