Urch Forums

Is a master from TSE or PSE highly recognized for a top PhD in economics in the USA?

Dung Le

Hi!

My name is Dung Le and I’m from Vietnam. I have a desire to pursue a PhD in economics in a top-20 graduate school in the USA, but I feel that, with a background of undergraduate in Vietnam and having no master degree, my dream will not come true.

So I’m thinking of taking a master degree in Toulouse School of Economics (TSE) or Paris School in Economics (PSE) as an intermediate step. I have two LoRs, one from a professor at PSE and the other from a professor at TSE, so it is very likely that I will be accepted for admission from TSE and PSE.

Please help me with my questions!

1. I heard from one of my friends that TSE and PSE are respected for their theoretical and mathematics-focused teaching style and curriculums. Is this insight correct?

1. Is master degree from TSE or PSE highly recognized in top graduate school in the USA (Chicago, MIT, Stanford, …)?

1. If I study well (top 5 in class) in the Master program from TSE or PSE, is it possible for me to be admitted to top PhD in economics in the USA?

1. Between PSE and TSE, which one is best suited for me if my goal is to be admitted in top PhD in economics in the USA? Below are master programs in these two schools.

1. Public Policy and Development – PSE

PPD - Public Policy and Development - Paris School of Economics

1. Analysis and Policy in Economics - PSE

APE - Analysis and Policy in Economics - Paris School of Economics

1. Master 1 in Economics (international track) – TSE

Master 1 in economics (international track) | TSE

1. Master 1 in Econometrics and Statistics (international track) - TSE

Master 1 Econometrics and Statistics (international track) | TSE

1. In Master 1 Econometrics and Statistics (international track), I see that there are apparently two options in which the first one is Decisions Mathematics Path and the second one is Statistics and Applied Econometrics Path.