Urch Forums

Profile evaluation - Economics PhD

poli95

Hi there,

Profile:

Indian Student

Undergraduate: Business - Not well known outside home country

Percentage - 75% - Not great but not so bad.

Post Graduate Diploma - Economics - Top 5 Economics depts UK

Percentage - Distinction

Masters - Economics - Top 5 Economics depts UK

Percentage - Distinction - Top of the class of 120 - got an award

Math and Econ Covered - Linear Algebra, Calculus, Advanced Micro, Advanced Macro, Advanced Econometrics, PhD level metrics and PhD level macro.

Masters in Interdisciplinary Mathematics - Same institution

Percentage - Distinction (Expecting) - Might be in the top 5 in the class.

Math topics covered - Partial Diff Eq(75), Real analysis(74), Complex Analysis(65), Topology(78), Probability theory(72), Stochastic analysis(68), Non Linear Analysis(77), Fourier Analysis(70) Group theory (66).

Research Experience - Worked with a Macro professor at the UK uni at which i did my MSc as a summer intern in my area of interest. Can get a good reference from him - he did his PhD at one of the top 5 US unis. Also, worked for different professors for a couple of months here and there for 2 years.

References - One from the head of the department who taught me undergrad level metrics - he knows me well, did his PhD from top 3 Australia - also my MSc dissertation advisor. Another from math professor where i did my MSc - knows me very well and have discussed a lot of stuff with him with regard to mathematical applications in economics.

GRE - Q/V/AWA - 170/155/4.5

Research Interests: Labour economics, Macroconometrics (Still not sure which one i will pursue)