Urch Forums

Co-Author In Non-Econ Publication/Non-Econ Experience in Application

EconGnome

Hi all,

In my undergraduate degree, I had the unusual opportunity of working with a mathematics faculty member on a paper which led to a publication in a leading journal soon after our research concluded. Outside of a brief literature review, this is the only significant, faculty-led research experience that I've got under my belt. On top of that, I was also a highly regarded TA for a linear algebra course for several semesters before I graduated from undergrad. To make matters a bit more confusing, I have what I believe to be non-competitive mathematics grades in the courses that I took as an undergraduate (B level for the most part).

I was wondering if anyone knows what the general consensus is on non-economics publications and non-economics TA experiences in the context of applying for Econ PhD programs?

Are these experiences enough to potentially make up for some of my lackluster mathematics grades?

A co-authored publication in a "leading" math journal is certainly a significant positive signal, and is a lot more relevant than a publication in, say, sociology or political science (so your question should be more specific than it is). But it's hard to tell you exactly how significant it will be without further info on the field/ranking of the journal.

A co-authored publication in a "leading" math journal is certainly a significant positive signal, and is a lot more relevant than a publication in, say, sociology or political science (so your question should be more specific than it is). But it's hard to tell you exactly how significant it will be without further info on the field/ranking of the journal.