Urch Forums

Engineer working in finance and considering a Masters/PhD in Economics. Help please!

WanderingEng

Hi Everyone,

I'm looking for a bit of advice:

My Profile:

Type of Undergrad: B.A.Sc. in Civil Engineering from a top Canadian school

Undergrad GPA: 3.77/4.00

Type of Grad: n/a

Grad GPA: n/a

GRE: Writing the GRE in December. I wrote the GMAT 4 years ago and scored 770 (49Q/47V), so I’m feeling pretty confident that I’ll do well

Math Courses: Engineering versions of: Calculus I (A-), Calculus II (A), Applied Linear Algebra (A+), Engineering Math I (A-), Probability Theory for Civil Engineering (A+), Engineering Mathematics II (A)

Econ Courses: Engineering Economics and Decision Making (A) - essentially, I have no proper economics background at university

Other Courses: Mostly engineering related

Work Experience: I have been out of school for seven years. I spent the first three years of my career in project management consulting in the construction industry before pivoting to finance. I have four years of experience spread across two investment analyst/associate roles in the infrastructure space

Research Experience: None

Teaching Experience: None (I did some tutoring for a company back during high school/undergrad, but I don’t think that’s what they’re looking for)

Letters of Recommendation: It won’t be easy for me to get academic letters, since I’ve been out of school for so long. I can likely get at least two strong letters from former employers (one in finance and one in consulting). I might be able to get a letter from an engineering professor who taught me and that I am connected to through a friend, but even if I can get a letter from him, I don’t know how strong it would be.

Research Interests: Behavioural economics (vague, I know)

I’m in a good-paying finance job right now, but I don't want to continue working on transactions for the rest of my career.