Urch Forums

Worth it to transfer?

Waelcoem

Hello all

First time poster here. This forum has been crushing my dreams for the past month, so I figured I should at least post something as well. I am currently a sophomore double majoring in math and economics at a mid sized, un-ranked, non-econ-PhD, public university. Lately, I have been considering obtaining a PhD after graduation (ideally at a T10 to T30). Also, given the fact that my school is un-ranked, I've been considering transferring (to CU Boulder to be specific). I'm wondering if this is worth it or not. I'll list some pros and cons just to give an idea of how I currently feel about doing this.

Pros:

-Better ranking

-Tuition is likely the same as where I'm at right now

-Better connections/ opportunity for research

Cons:

-Throw away the relationships I have with my current professors (which are all very good)

-Dealing with the bullshit of transferring

-CU Boulder's undergrad program still isn't ranked that high. Not sure if it would really impact my profile that much.

-CU Boulder is much larger than my current school. I probably wouldn't have close relations with my professors as I do now.

I don't want to get into my current profile, but I am qualified for much more selective schools and was accepted to a couple decent colleges out of high school; I just have a hard time justifying paying the amount they were asking for tuition (I think undergrad degrees are currently very over valued), even after some substantial scholarships.

Obviously, there is no way to value these pros and cons, so its hard for me to judge this decision. I guess this comes down to how much institution rank is weighted in the application process relative to other factors. Any advice would be very helpful.