Urch Forums

Urch sets a good example

startz

Now that it's getting down to the wire on decisions, I thought I'd add a comment about the board.

99 percent of the people here are being constructive and 97 percent of the time they do it in a nice way. Not everywhere in the world operates this way. You are all to be congratulated. And I hope everyone ends up in a program that is similarly supportive.

Coming from a small LAC with little record of sending students to PhD programs, and no professors who know much about the current admissions process, Urch was really invaluable. I wholeheartedly agree with your comment

This is completely spot on, and I was in the same situation. I look forward to staying on this forum and helping applicants for later years.

My background is similar to the two posters above; I graduated from a small university where around ~15 econ undergrads every year apply to PhD programs. Around 5 would try to take grad econ courses before applying, and on average, 0.5 would finish the course, with the rest withdrawing to misunderstanding the prerequisites. Similarly, only around 1-2 students every year would work as part-time RAs for professors, even though there were ample opportunities for students who were willing to work without pay.