Sponsored Ad:
See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: Profile Evaluation - Fall 2020

Trying to make mom and pop proud

Good post? Yes | No

Question Profile Evaluation - Fall 2020

Sponsored Ad:
    PROFILE: After about 4 years in the workforce I am considering applying to a few PHD programs for the fall of 2020. My professional experience is not really related to economics (worked as Financial Advisor for an international bank in a sales role and in customer service for a large corporation).

An Econ PHD was not something I ever considered while completing my undergrad or my masters so my resume is probably one of the weaker ones compared to everyone else one here. That being said I am trying to gauge if it is even possible/probable that I can get into a program and what steps I can take to improve my chances between now and applying.

I graduated with a Bachelors of Science from a top 60 econ program and recently finished my masters in Finance through an online Masters program from a probably low level state school.

Type of Undergrad: Econ
    Undergrad GPA: 3.6 / 3.9 major
    Type of Grad:Finance
    Grad GPA: 3.6

GRE:
    V: 160 Q: 164 A: 4.5

Math Courses:
    Calc 1 (A-), Calc 2 (A), Calc 3 (A)

Econ Courses:

Intermediate Micro (A), Intermediate Macro (A), Money & Banking (A), International Trade (A), International Finance (B), Applied Micro Analysis (A), Econometrics (A-), Analysis of Econ Data (A-)

Letters of Recommendation:
    Average LORs from 3 former professors (1 from my econometrics professor and 2 from Finance professors).

Research Experience: Absolutely none (I am open to suggestions on how to gain some between now and submitting applications)

Teaching Experience: None

Programming Experience: Python and R (not through formal coursework)

Interest: Policy, Monetary Economics, Econometrics

Applying To: You tell me

Eager!

2 out of 2 members found this post helpful. Good post? Yes | No

Re: Profile Evaluation - Fall 2020