Urch Forums

RA - Research Assistant Jobs in USA

iampain0

Does anyone have any information on likelihood or proportion of American Economic departments hiring international students as research assistants.

I'm to enter a MSc program in UK this autumn and I'm definitely interested in doing a PhD thereafter but am interested to apply for some of RA jobs (plenty posted on NBERs websit) to gain experience as well as added value to application.

However given that I'm an International student, do you know how many students generally apply, how many get accepted or will they sponsor a visa?

Also, as most of these jobs look like data type work along with editing and managing projects and papers; while I'm extremely proficient in Stata, a lot of them emphasize on some kind of mathematical/finance/macro modelling done in Python or R, for which I'm inexperienced in.

Hence I would appreciate some information on chances of being employed as If more than likely, I would expend a lot of time during the MSc to also train and code in Python/R.

Does anyone have any information on likelihood or proportion of American Economic departments hiring international students as research assistants.

I'm to enter a MSc program in UK this autumn and I'm definitely interested in doing a PhD thereafter but am interested to apply for some of RA jobs (plenty posted on NBERs websit) to gain experience as well as added value to application.

However given that I'm an International student, do you know how many students generally apply, how many get accepted or will they sponsor a visa?

Also, as most of these jobs look like data type work along with editing and managing projects and papers; while I'm extremely proficient in Stata, a lot of them emphasize on some kind of mathematical/finance/macro modelling done in Python or R, for which I'm inexperienced in.