Urch Forums

LSE EME Preparation

confusedecon

Hi All,

I have been offered a place for the EME MSc at LSE. I'm planning on deferring the offer until next year and plan to work/prepare before the course begins. I have an undergraduate degree from a Russel Group University with good marks but didn't take much Econometric Theory (although did take relatively difficult micro/macro sequences).

I have searched the forum and seen that there have been threads discussing the programme, however, these seem to be slightly outdated.

And so I wanted to ask what mathematics and statistics/econometrics would you recommend I look at to prepare for the course? My current background is perhaps the equivalent of an American sequence of Calc1-3, Linear Algebra, Econometrics (intermediate).

For metrics, the usual set of textbooks is: Casella-Berger (for statistical background), Hayashi (for OLS-GMM), Wooldridge (Panel Data and Cross Section), Hamilton (time series)

You will need some basic topology and continuity-limit knowledge as well, which can be remedied using Rudin's Math Analysis.

For metrics, the usual set of textbooks is: Casella-Berger (for statistical background), Hayashi (for OLS-GMM), Wooldridge (Panel Data and Cross Section), Hamilton (time series)

You will need some basic topology and continuity-limit knowledge as well, which can be remedied using Rudin's Math Analysis.

Thank you! I've seen these books used in various context when looking at other universities courses and I have covered some aspects of these. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.

Hayashi is quite advanced and Wooldridge is similar to a reference text. They may be overkill.