Urch Forums

Would full-time RA improve my chance of going to a top program?

yumioyang

Hi I am an undergraduate senior. Because I decided to apply for a PhD not long ago, I wonder what I should be doing now to improve my chance of going to a solid program. I don't think I am well prepared given my profile.

Type of undegrad: formerly US news Top 20, later transferred to US news Top 10 (Econ dept ranked top 20)

GPA: 4.0 at previous college, 3.925 in the current college (2 A-s)

Math: Calc I and Calc II (A), Linear Algebra (A-), Multicalc (A+), Real Analysis (this coming fall), Probability and Stats (at previous college, A), Probability in current college (Currently taking, didn't do well, expecting a B+ or A-).

(Meanwhile, I am planning to take Math stats and dynamic programming in my last semester)

Econ: Intro Micro (A), Intro Macro (A), Metrics (A), Intermediate Micro (A), Intermediate Micro II (Math based, A), Intermediate Macro (A), graduate policy analysis course (A), graduate special topic research capstone course (A).

(Will take graduate metrics, micro and time series this fall.)

Research experience: produced a paper in the research capstone course, attended a few conferences. Just started working as a RA this summer and probably would extend this job to the end of next semester. Will right an honor thesis this senior fall.

So in general I feel like I didn't prepare myself well for applying to PhD yet. I wonder if working one or two years as an RA would give me enough time to take important math and stats class and enrich my background. Or should I go for a master?

Thank you!

So in general I feel like I didn't prepare myself well for applying to PhD yet. I wonder if working one or two years as an RA would give me enough time to take important math and stats class and enrich my background. Or should I go for a master?

Seems like you answered your own question here, but I'll add a couple comments.