Urch Forums

Some advice on studying mathematics?

jongrud

HI, I'm a Korean undergraduate student from Top 3 Econ school in my country.

I have read through lots of posts here and they all have been of tremendous help to me.

Straight to the point, I am planning to take advanced calculus and differential equations next semester, but the problem is I have yet virtually no math background except mathematics for economics, college math, and general stuff like that. After conquering those courses, (hopefully) I will need to take more advanced courses like real analysis, and etc.

Now, I strongly feel that I have to start digging into some math to build a solid foundation for the tough ones (in my view) coming up next semester and ahead, but I have noticed that calculus books alone were like 1,200 pages thick (e.g. James Stewart), so I'm wondering if it is a wise strategy to go through all of it. I'm not allergic to math or anything like that but I'm just curious what would be the most recommended way of building mathematical structure in my brain.

I'm currently having an internship in one of the UN offices in my country so I need to spend my time wisely because I do not have a plenty of time to focus on my study.

I would very much appreciate any kind of advice. Thanks :)

I recommend "The Humongous Book of Calculus Problems" by Michael Kelley... he also has the same series in Trigonometry (refresher?) and Statistics... I'm looking to read them before starting grad school next fall... they've been in my bookshelf for a while now! Despite the seemingly daunting name, it's actually an effective way to study because these problems all have solutions with them so it's like immersion for math. I also recommend "3000 Solved Problems in Linear Algebra"... it looks good and I'm going to read it before next fall...