Urch Forums

COVID-19 Concerns

timeseries

Hi,

Do you think that the situation right now might impact all the international students that would be looking to get student visas this summer? Or do you suppose it will calm down by the summer ?

Has anyone received information from universities regarding this ?

Thanks ! Stay safe and wash your hands.

Hi timeseries, I was also thinking about this since I am also an international student looking to start Ph.D. this year. I guess if things get worse, universities will either push the program to Spring next year or start with online classes for a semester (many places are already doing this). But let's hope that things will get better in the next 4-5 months. Fingers crossed!

Same here. I may be optimistic but I think by summer the restrictions would be lifted or at least loosened. Otherwise I think what SSh described seems like a reasonable course of actions.

I was also thinking how does the COVID-19 affect the admission process at the moment? If the colleges close down, would it slow down the decisions that are still yet to be made (eg regarding applicants that have been waitlisted).

Hope everyone stays safe and healthy.

I'm a Director of Graduate Studies. We have not been given any information about next year. I don't think anyone knows anything at this point and we are just trying to figure out how to finish this year.

Our decision process isn't slowed down. That stuff is easy to do from home.

Thank you everyone for sharing your perspectives. I have the option between a program in my country of residence and a program in the UK. I was initially leaning towards the UK program. But with all the travel restrictions in place right now (and who knows how long they will last), I’m worried that it might be too big of a risk.