Urch Forums

Are grad math courses worth it?

WelshCorgi

I am a final year undergrad student looking forward to applying for PhD probably in 2022. I was wondering if taking grad math courses (grad Real Analysis - Hilbert space, grad Probability - measure based prob theory) would enhance my chances.

I have taken most of the relevant math courses (analysis, real analysis, topology, stochastic processes, etc) and I think I would most probably get at least A's from the grad courses as well. If so, should I take them, or would it be a waste of time?

Always thank you for great advice

(btw, I am looking forward to studying financial economics)

Edited by WelshCorgi
Some additional info

Well, actually I am going to attend Econ Masters from next semester, so grad micro and metrics courses would have been taken by the time I apply for Phd. I was just wondering if some advanced math courses would provide any benefit in the application process. (Since my undergrad GPA is not as optimal: around 3.7/4.0 US standard)

Well, actually I am going to attend Econ Masters from next semester, so grad micro and metrics courses would have been taken by the time I apply for Phd. I was just wondering if some advanced math courses would provide any benefit in the application process. (Since my undergrad GPA is not as optimal: around 3.7/4.0 US standard)

Are you interested in Theory by any chance?

• 3 weeks later...
Looking at your profile evaluation thread, it seems like you are interested in pursuing a PhD in Finance. Is that correct? If so, your best bet is to post in the Business PhD thread (As they can guide you better).

Thank you for your guidance. I will try to get advice from the Business PhD thread.

Thank you for your guidance. I will try to get advice from the Business PhD thread.