Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation for fall 2020 - thanks in advance!!

openbook

Hey all!

I am an undergraduate student graduating in 2021, and applying for programs in fall 2020. I am from the US, but am studying in the UK. I’m just having trouble trying to gauge what schools to apply to, and where exactly I have a chance at getting in. I want to aim as high as possible, but of course I want to be reasonable and not overestimate!

Thanks in advance!

Undergraduate Degree: BA in Economics and Political Science (double major, from top 20 global university in the UK)

Undergraduate GPA: First Class Honors predicted (I think roughly equates to 3.8+/4.0)

GRE: Q 167, V 166, AW 5.5

Math Courses: (this is a bit difficult to show, because a lot of math is integrated into the Economics courses themselves, but I’ll try to explain here) Economics 1 (A, included single and multivariable calculus, some linear algebra, differential equations, partial differentiation, optimization), Economics 2 (A+, constrained optimization, Lagrangians, matrix algebra, hessians etc.), Statistics for Economics (A+, probability theory, general statistics and applications), Advanced Mathematical Economics (A, set theory, real analysis, metric spaces, dynamic programming)

Economics Courses: Economics 1 (A), Economics 2 (A+), Topics in Microeconomics (A-), Topics in Macroeconomics (A-), Development Economics (A), Essentials of Econometrics (A), Applications of Econometrics (A)

Related Experience: Summer Research Intern for Federal Reserve Board of Governors (got lots of experience with R, Stata, SQL, python); Going into my senior year now I will be doing research for my undergraduate dissertation

Letters of Recommendation: 1 from my academic advisor, 1 from my dissertation advisor, 1 from my maths professor, and 1 from an economist I worked with at the FED