Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation 2021 - Thanks!

mlc27

Hey, thanks so much in advance. I'm a UK student looking to apply this round for UK Masters/PhD programmes. So far, I'm considering Cambridge MPhil Econ Research, Oxford MPhil Econ, LSE MSc Econ and LSE MRes/PhD. Any honest feedback on prospects or other options including funding (except for LSE MSc) would be greatly appreciated! Interested in research in development and political economy mostly.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: BA Economics, Cambridge University, UK - currently going into 3rd year so just have 2 years of exam results

Undergrad GPA: 1st Class in 5/5 papers (1st Year), 1st Class in econometrics project (2nd year), no 2nd year exams due to Covid but 1st Class in 3/3 mock exams.

GRE: 170Q/157V/6.0W

Math Courses (list the grades for each course):

Mathematics and Statistics - first year course in multivariable calculus, linear algebra, probability theory, statistical inference (1st Class)

Mathematics and Statistics - second year course in static, dynamic optimisation, further linear algebra, set theoretic probability, inference, Bayesian methods (No exam due to covid, not even mock exam)

Econ Courses Undergrad (list the grades for each course):

Intermediate micro - first year (1st Class)

Intermediate macro - first year (1st Class)

Economic history (1st class)

Game theory - second year (no exam, 1st Class in mock exam)

Intermediate macro - second year (no exam, 1st Class in mock exam)

Intermediate econometrics - second year (1st Class in coursework, no exam but 1st Class in mock exam)

Other Courses:

Politics and Social Aspects of Economics (1st Class)

Letters of Recommendation:

1 from RA, relatively young researcher

1 from supervisor, fairly established

1 from supervisor and lecturer, fairly established

Research Experience:

2 month summer RA (not a formal RA setup, just did some data-based work for a professor at my Cambridge college)