Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation for Fall 2021

AllenL

Hi,

I'm a transfer student from an unknown university in Asia and have been at a U.S. public university for two years. Could you please help me do a profile evaluation? Thanks in advance!

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: Top 20 Econ Department, Econ double Math with Stat minor.

Econ major at the unknown university in Asia.

Cumulative GPA: 4.0/4.0

Cumulative GPA at previous university: 3.5/5

GRE: Haven't taken yet. Probably get 168+Q and 155+ V.

Math Courses:

Linear Algebra (A), Multivariable calculus (A), Probability I/II (A), Intro to proof (A), Mathematical analysis (Baby Rudin) (IP)

Econ Courses:

Intermediate Microeconomics & Macroeconomics (A), Trade (A), Cost-Benefit Analysis (A), Econometrics(IP), Micro Analysis I/II (IP), Development (IP)

Other Courses:

C++(A), Regression analysis (A)

All courses above are taken in the U.S.

Letters of Recommendation:

1) Chairman of the department. Have taken classes and RAed for 2 semesters.

2) Instructor of the Micro Analysis. Full Professor.

3) New Assistant Professor at an overall top 40 university (unranked in Econ). She graduated from our department and I am doing research with her at present.

Research Experience:

One year of RA experience in the department.

Teaching Experience:

TAed 3 semesters for the Intermediate Macro.

Programming skills:

Python, C++, R, Latex, Stata

Other:

Awarded a scholarship from the Econ Department.

I wish to receive an offer from a top 20 or top 30 graduate schools. Do you think it is reasonable?

Thanks again for your advice!

Top 30 definitely seems possible, but Top 20 might be stretching it a bit without some graduate coursework and/or a pre-doctoral RA stint with a strong letter coming from that experience. You might try for 1 or 2 Top 20 shots, I wouldn't rule it out completely, but those are much more competitive and many applicants have letters from faculty teaching at Top 10-20 schools.