Urch Forums

questions regarding Ph.d classes

jongrud

----Edited-----------------------------

Hi, people. I'm a Korean student in Top 3 university in my country. I just finished my undergrad and will now proceed to grad school of the same institution. I've noticed that in this forum, people say grades in Ph.D micro, and metric courses are strong signals in the admission process. But I wonder, are they the same thing as graduate micro, and metric classes, which are based on Mas-collel, and green textbook? The grad classes are in master programs, so I'm afraid they are not the same thing as the Ph.D micro, and metric that people here are talking about? I'm asking this because I already have A+ in grad micro and metric but I'm not sure they are the ones with strong signaling value.

Thanks in advance :)

Edited by jongrud

Thanks for replying! That clarifies some ambiguity. But may I ask one more question? I've also taken a grad mathematical statistics as an undergrad last semester, and I only managed to get B due to overloading myself+ temporary health problem before the exam.

The thing is that I can retake it in my grad school and am pretty sure that then I can get A. Would you recommend doing so? I have A+ in grad micro, metric, and undergrad real analysis sequences(two classes) but I'm afraid that B in such mathematical class can potentially hurt my chances badly. The alternative would be taking a grad real analysis class and get A from it (although it's a grad class, people say it's not that advanced compared to the undergrad ones that I excelled in). So the question simplifies to:

Retake the grad math stats to cover up the flaw vs Get over it and ace grad real analysis instead.

Edited by jongrud

• 2 weeks later...