Urch Forums

How much does it matter where math courses are taken?

southerncharm

Hi,

I'm planning on applying to Econ PhD programs in fall 2022 (for fall 2023 start). I am targeting top 50-150 schools, plus a few stretch schools and a few business and public policy schools with econ focus. I'm a working professional and my math is quite old, so I'm going to be taking courses over the next several semesters. My plan is MV Calc, Linear Algebra 1&2, Stats 1&2, Analysis 1.

How much does it matter where I take these courses? I live in Atlanta so have Perimeter College (community college), Georgia State, and Georgia Tech. Tech is a lot more expensive (and presumably harder?) - how much would that help an applicant? My working thought is to go with Perimeter + GSU, and spend my extra hours trying to do research with an econ professor at GSU next summer.

Thanks for any advice!

It largely doesn't matter where you take them, especially among those places. It's very common for people to take math classes at community colleges or "lower ranked" schools in their area. As long as the class is graded and the institution is a college or university, it doesn't make much difference.

Check out self-paced online math at NetMath or online math at Harvard Extension too. Both are well-recognized and I have a few predoc friends who took Math 23A as their analysis course through H Extension.

Do you think those are credible enough places to take maths courses?

Harvard extension's 23A is definitely credible as a ton of applicants take this course and it meets all the Real Analysis requirements for most programs. Berkeley also has an online course offering during the summer which pre-docs/RAs can take though most people I know took the harvard extension one.

Yes, my acquaintances who did this have been admitted to top 10 in previous years so it's just about as credible as they come.