Urch Forums

cmodonn18

Hello,

I am quite torn between these two programs, both of which I feel are strong choices with a lot to offer. I figured I'd list out my pros and cons for each school, and see whether or not others had any insights!

For context, I am mainly interested in political economics and public economics (although that can always change down the line). I am coming in without a ton of Math, so I would definitely be doing a bit of catching up during the first year (especially since I've been working for a few years since graduating undergrad). I would eventually like to work either in some government or public policy-oriented research position, and if I do go into academia I would see myself working at a small, liberal arts college with a strong emphasis on teaching.

VANDERBILT

Pros:

- Small department, really take a personal interest in their students

- Strong Law School/Political Science program (given my interest in political economics/law and economics)

- Lots of female faculty members, which is really unique

- Hamilton Scholar Award (extra 5000 dollars in addition to the standard stipend)

- Nashville is a much more affordable city than Boston University

Cons:

- Far away from my friends, family and boyfriend (I'd have to fly home, which is less than ideal for me)

- Few public transit options in Nashville (which I sorry about since I don't have a car)

- Political economics professors do more theoretical work, while I'm interested in more applied/empirical work)

- Smaller program means less course offerings, which could be an issue down the line

BOSTON UNIVERSITY

Pros:

- Great location for me, close to friends and family members (also I just love Boston)

- Seems as though the faculty and students are all pretty happy with BU and living in Boston, which is important to me

- Strong job placement, particularly into positions that I see myself pursuing in the future