Urch Forums

Profile Eval and Recommendations: Econ Masters After Business Undergrad

mirth67

Hello, everyone! I am a business grad hoping to get into Economics. I've always been passionate about the subject and research but I was unable to pursue it because of financial problems. I'm hoping to find my way back to it now.

Profile:

Undergrad: Bachelor's in Business Administration (BBA), with a major in Finance and minor in Economics. Top 5 University in South Asian country but not significant ranking/well-known internationally

Undergrad GPA: 3.79/4.00

GRE: 170Q, 166V, 6.0AWA

Math Courses:

• Mathematics for Decisions - A
  • Business Statistics - A
  • Quantitative Analysis - A

Econ Courses:

• Microeconomics - B+
  • Macroeconomics - B+
  • Econometrics - A
  • Public Finance - B+

Other Courses: Most of my other courses are focused on finance, accounting, management, and marketing

Research Experience: Negligible in terms of economics, was part-time RA for a professor for Human Resource Management.

Work Experience: Joined PwC as an analyst last month. Work here involves primary research and market analysis as well as econometric modeling.

A Levels: Economics (94%), Mathematics (98%), + 2 other subjects, also A*

Yeah, definitely not the strongest of applications. I think my GPA and GRE scores offer some strength, but my coursework is not Econ-focused and I do not have research or teaching experience. Also, I can wrangle good LORs but they won't be from well-known economists :(

Ideally, I want to get into an Econ Masters that supports students who have a non-Econ or non-quant background, such as the LSE 2-year or a Tilburg with a pre-Masters, or the Cambridge Advanced Diploma. Ultimately, I want to be able to do a PhD in a top 50 uni, so it's essential to get into at least a top 50/100 Master's where I can get research experience and a strong recommendation. Money, unfortunately, is still an issue which is why I am considering mainland Europe or Asia.