Sponsored Ad:
See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is it common for students from low ranked Phd program transferring to high ranked?

Within my grasp!

Good post? Yes | No

Wink Is it common for students from low ranked Phd program transferring to high ranked?

Sponsored Ad:
    I found that it is terribly hard to get in any top 10 phd program...
    especially like MIT...
    I would like to ask if I can first get in a lower rank,let say 10-25th Econ Phd program in US...then apply to top 5 or even top 10 after I got a master two years later???

Is it easier?? Is it harder? Is it Common?
    Any opinion about this option.? I know that most phd does not intend to recruit students for MA...but for phd...
    The thing is....if I dont tell....

Within my grasp!

Good post? Yes | No
    I know there were some isolated success stories (not in the top 10), but this is not common, so I wouldn't count on it too much. You probably need to be better than the rest of your class. You probably need to obtain letters of recommendation from current professors, which seems awkward. In fact, don't ask, just go ahead and try.. Just make sure you have a contingency plan (e.g. you take the coursework and research at the top 25 program seriously and feel comfortable working there to the end of degree program if you don't succeed to transfer). Note that in most cases you would have to retake a whole bunch of courses unless you can pass the prelims.

Within my grasp!

Good post? Yes | No