Urch Forums

questions about SAT II's

joethemole

Hi

I'm a Canadian student going into grade 12 next year; therefore, i have to hand in SAT 1 + 2 marks in by this november-january. Well, see heres the problem with my SAT 2s. I didn't take I.B., so i don't know any of the grade 12 level information in Math 2 and any of the science courses. The only choice i have is to take those courses in the first semester of grade 12 (sept to jan), and hopefully learn enough material by november or december to take SAT2s on those months.

Question is, will that be too late for some universities? i'm thinking of going into top 30, hopefully NYU or the ivy leagues (harvard, princeton and whatnot). Will sending SAT2 scores for say, the december test date, be too late for them?

2nd question is, I want to go into business (management or finance), which SAT 2s should i take? i'll probably take math 2, but which other two subjects should i take? i'm thinking 2 science courses (if so, does it matter which ones). i can't take american history, for obvious reasons, and i also don't think i can take world history since our curriculum doesn't cover enough of it. I also dont have a strong second language base...so thats out. perhaps lit, but from the sample questions on the collegeboard site, they seem very difficult...

thank you for your help.

1st question:

December Testing Date: Fine for Regular Decision but too late for Early Decision/Action. I recommend you take the test's earlier because you may find that you want to re-take one. Won't it be stressful having to study for three completely un-releated subjects in a few month's time?

2nd Question:

Take some of sort of Math + any other two subject test's you like.