Urch Forums

SAT II general Questions and Chemistry Questions

csodave

Just in general, are SAT II's particularly hard? I am taking Honors Chemistry right now and I heard that a college prep. or regular Chemistry class is good prep as is. Are the SAT Subject Tests deep or are do they just skim the surface in terms of variety of studies and difficulty. Also, are the prep books usually harder than the test? That's what I've heard.

And one more thing, I'm a sophomore right now, my CP Weighted GPA, or the one that UC's and California colleges care most about was a 4.14 for the first semester. Next year, im fairly confident that I can achieve a 4.5^ Cp Weighted GPA. How are my chances to making UCLA?

I appreciate your input.

• 3 months later...

SAT II are not necessarily harder nor easier; it just depends on the student if they are better in one specific subject which helps since the SAT II are SUBJECT tests. I took AP Chemistry and took the SAT II Chem and I did fairly well. But I also did a lot of prepping in terms of reading thru my notes before the test, skimming the book for topics I haven't learned yet, etc. Generally, the SAT II subject test covers the general material as the easier questions and goes more in depth, as the questions get more difficult. Sometimes the prep books are harder but then again, these "hard" questions are still fair game for the test. Maybe not as many of them, but if you can work your way through the hard questions, you should do fairly well on your exam.