Urch Forums

How to Stand out as a Research Assistant

whatdoido

I did a forum search and didn't really come up with anything, so I thought I'd ask. I'm doing research for a Professor and I get her the work as quickly as I can and I think she's impressed with my fast turnover, but I doubt that will make her write a good recommendation. I've shot her some research ideas and she gave me positive feedback on 3 or 4 of them (she said that I should pursue them further). I'm not really sure what else I can possibly do to stand out. I'm helping her revise a paper (helping as in just gathering data) and I've thought about trying to do some independent analysis of her paper (which I don't have but I know the concept of) but I realize that given that I'm an undergrad. and shes a professional economist, I probably won't have anything to say that either doesn't make sense or she hasn't thought of already. I've told her that I'm reading Varian, but given that all the answers to the questions in Varian are online, I don't really have much to ask her about it. So my question is what did you guys do to stand out when you were an RA? Thanks.

Work hard and follow instructions. A big part of success in grad school is work ethic and persistence.

I remember another poster in another thread saying that working your butt off for a professor may demonstrate no research ability and will not help getting a great recommendation. I don't necessarily agree, because I do think that work ethic is important, but given that I've demonstrated that (and will continue to), I want to know what else I can do.

Work your butt off AND try to contribute to new ideas at the same time (Caveat: Hard thing to do if you are pressed on time). Don't just follow instructions blindly. Also try and show interest in the profs research (even if it is dry or not to your liking, and yes it usually is). Edited by petecheese
Dumbo typing