Urch Forums

Profile evaluation for fall 13 - suggestions / ideas

mwl

Hello, am new to the forum but I spent the past couple of weeks reading up posts and profiles.

I'd like to receive a couple of ideas/suggestions about mine: am new to the 'PhD application' field, hence any advice will certainly help :)!

I am an MBA student in the US, originally from Europe and I am looking to apply for fall 13 intake.

I understand that time is limited, but any suggestion on how to improve my profile, correctly select the target schools and hone my application would surely be very helpful, particularly from you.

About me: male, European, 29

Undergrad: Economics, well recognized business university in Europe

Undergrad GPA: (translated in 4.0 scale) 3.9 / top 5%

Grad 1: Economics, well recognized business university in Europe (same as undergrad)

Grad 1 GPA: (translated in 4.0 scale) 3.9 / top 5%

Grad 1 academic prize: 30,000 Eur scholarship for academic merits (top 2.5% of the class)

Grad 1 research: 6-months financial econometrics research on asset betas in infrastructure investments (using eviews), culminated with honor thesis (same topic) and graduation magna cum laude

Grad 2: MBA program, Wharton @ Upenn

Grad 2 GPA: 3.8

Grad 2 research: nil so far, apart from independent study with Professor on application of new technologies for queuing systems (do ISPs count?)

Work experience: 4 years - 2 years in banking (BB) and 2 years in consulting (McK)

GMAT: 760 (but Q=49) - looking to get GRE to address Q part

Math Courses: Mathematics (year-long math course that encompasses calc 1-2-3 syllabi and linear/multivariate/matrix) A, Quantitative Methods for Finance (grad-level) A

Econometrics/stat Courses:econometrics A+, statistics A-, financial econometrics (grad) A+, thesis (grad) rewarded with final honors (laude)

Econ/Finance Courses: micro, macro, finance, entrepreneurship... - A or A+ in all finance classes (incl. Wharton)