Urch Forums

Advice needed on approach to quant study for retest

Guest Guest

Guest Guest

Friends,

I have just sat the GMAT and have scored very high on verbal, but abysmally low on quant - 36% percentile. While my score was slightly lower than what I had obtained in the GMATPrep official practice tests, I am still dismayed that I cannot get my score higher. What bugs me more is that many areas I focused on did not even get tested (see below). I have been preparing consistently for about four months, and, recognizing that I am a lot stronger on verbal, focused solely on math, and intensively so, for the last two weeks.

The resources I have used are:

• Official guide, 13th and 12th editions
  • A well known and established test prep provider's most recent guide
  • The online material provided by a well-known online prep provider
  • Random questions posted in forums such as this one

While working my way through the OG guide (all questions), I found I was getting about 80% of them, including those near the end, correct.

Here's what I got tested on today:

• Remainders
  • Triangles
  • Functions
  • Exponents
  • Rates
  • Work
  • Inequalities
  • Absolute values
  • Coordinate Geometry
  • Factors, LCM etc

Here are some areas that were not tested:

• Roots
  • Probability
  • Simultaneous Equations
  • Sets
  • Counting
  • Shapes
  • Sequences
  • Ratios
  • Interest calculations

As you can see, some relatively easy topics (ratios, shapes, simultaneous equations) did not get tested at all. I am particularly frustrated at the choice of areas tested. During the practice tests, I struggled with sets, counting, and probability. So I dived deep into these areas in the last few week, got very good at them, and then nothing gets asked.

In order to best prepare for a retest, I welcome informed feedback on the following questions:

• What conclusions, if any, should I draw from the algorithm's choice of questions today?