Urch Forums

Help Selecting Econometrics Text(s)

Kshatriya

Hey everyone! My first post here at Urch, was searching around and this forum seemed to have so many awesome members! I'm a pure Economics BSc undergrad in London, and I'm just about to start my second year after the holidays. Naturally we are going to begin Econometrics and my dad was telling me how he remembered struggling with it (he has a masters in econ) so I thought I'd get a small head start. I did a lot of research to find some good texts but there seems to be varied opinions and I'm a tad wrought with confusion. I found some threads on here too; with varying opinions. Would just like some clarification and fresh opinions.

I'm going to list some books that I've narrowed it down too, and I'd like to make it clear I have NO ISSUE with purchasing more than the one book. Especially if one introduces Econometrics generally, the other goes into more depth, and so on.

I'd just like to know out of the following (which you guys feel are the best) and perhaps rank them in quality or the order I should tackle them in!

Yes, I'm completely new to Econometrics, and I've done stats before but I've likely forgot most if not all of it, so I might need a hand-holder of a book to start me off.

Introduction to Econometrics - James H. Stock, Mark Watson

Econometrics - Fumio Hayashi

Introductory Econometrics - A Modern Approach - Woolridge

Econometric Theory & Methods - Russell Davidson

A guide to Modern Econometrics - Marno Verbeek

Basic Econometrics - Damodar Gujurati, Dawn C. Porter

Econometrics by Example - Damodar Gujurati

I've heard some good things about all these books, so I am a tad conflicted, as I said I don't mind getting more than one, even multiple if need be.

Thanks!

[h=1][/h]