Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation PhD Economics 2015

Lin Alessandro

Hi there,

It's my first time here.

I would really appreciate any advice and comments.

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: B.A. Honors Economics, Italian research private university well known

Undergrad GPA: 97%

Top 5% wrt colleagues

Type of Grad: M.A. (1-year) same institution as above

Grad GPA: 90%

Top 10% wrt colleagues

GRE: 170 Q 155 V 3A:doh:

Undergrad

Math Courses: Calculus I (A+), Calculus II and Linear Algebra (A)

Econ Courses: 3 Micro (B A- A) 3 Macro (A A- A) 2 Stat/Econometrics (A+ A+) 3 Finance (A A A+)

Grad

Math Courses: 1 Math (A) - const opt, unconst opt, ode, de, bellman

Econ Courses: 2 Micro (C A+) 2 Macro (C B) Econometrics ©

Letters of Recommendation: 1 Princeton PhD, 1 Columbia PhD, 1 Cambridge PhD

Research Experience: Honors thesis

Teaching Experience: None but private lessons

Research Interests: Micro, Public, Growth

SOP:

Other:

Applying to: LSE, Stanford, Columbia, NYU, NW, Michigan, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Duke, Brown, Cornell, UCLA, UCSD and many others

So my weak points are obviously bad writing skills, I still have trouble in writing my SOP. I really find it difficult to express myself in many words. I really prefer numbers and non open questions.

My strengths would be strong quantitative skills

I don't know if I am overestimating myself so that I included top 10 schools.

Thanks to ZYX

Edited by Lin Alessandro

I would add your graduate courses (along with grades). Maybe also add how you have done in the degrees relative to your cohort, as well as any recent placements from your university into PhD programmes.

Adding this information will help forum users to comment on your profile.

Do you have TOEFL? If so, what is your writing and overall score?