Urch Forums

GPA Floor for PhD in Econ Admissions

kevin1297

Hi,

I am currently a sophomore studying at Occidental College, a top 40 liberal arts college, in California. I am interested in getting a PhD in Econ, and have heard that above a certain floor, your GPA doesn't matter. Is that true, and if so, what is it for different universities?

Below are my stats:

Major: Diplomacy and World Affairs and Economics, minor in Mathematics

GPA: 3.43 (Doesn’t include grades in courses currently taking)

GPA (Fall Semester, Freshman): 3.0 ((French 201 (C+) screwed it up))

GPA (Spring Semester, Freshman): 3.85

GPA (Fall Semester, Sophomore): 3.43

GPA (Economics): 3.42

Principles of Econ I: A-

Principles of Econ II: A-

Intermediate Microeconomic Theory: A (so far)

Intermediate Macroeconomic Theory: B+

Economic Development: A-

Calculus I: B-

GPA (Mathematics): 3.2

Calculus I: B-

Calculus II: A- (so far)

Statistics: A-

Planned Courses (Economics):

Game Theory

Applied Econometrics (Fall 2015)

International Economics

Senior Seminar (Honors)

Planned Courses (Mathematics):

Multivariable Calculus (Fall 2015)

Discrete Mathematics (Prereq for real analysis) (Fall 2015)

Linear Algebra

Real Analysis

Probability

Mathematical Statistics

Planned Courses (Computer Science):

Intro to C++ (Fall 2015)

Intro to Java I (Fall 2015)

Intro to Java II and Intro to Computer Science

Research Experience (Planned):

Honors Comps in Economics

Internship at Economic Policy Research Institute (South African think-tank) over Summer 2015

Summer Research on Campus

Research with Polish Economics Professor (my mom knows the dean of a top twenty business school in Europe that I can do research with)

GRE: not taken

Target Schools:

Top 30 – 50

University of Washington

Georgetown

George Washington University

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Boston University

University of California – Santa Barbara

Rice University

Reach Schools: