Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation 2016

zjdo123

[h=2][/h]

Hi, please evaluate my chances for MA and PhD programs. I know my profile is far from enough for Top 20 and willing to go to a master program (as a stepping stone to T20 U.S. PhD) or to a Top 50 program directly.

I am an international student who came to U.S. since high school. Then I went to a community college before transferred to my current university.

Now I'm rising senior at a public University. The U is ranked overall top 70 in US NEWS (though I think this is ridiculous), and top 15 in Economics.

Though the department is decent, but as an undergraduate, it is hard for me to get in touch with professors,

since all the classes are taught by current graduate students except for the senior electives, which have strict policy for non-seniors to enroll.

The research opportunity is only given to students in university honors program through UROP in the summer and it is very difficult for a transfer student (like me) to enter the program.

So basically I have no connections to any professors in the department so far, which means no letters from Econ professor for me at present.

But I will try my best to see if I could obtain a letter from the professor next semester (who should be well known in Macro theory)

Type of Undergrad: Bachelors in Science, Top 70 Public U Top 15 in Economics

Undergrad GPA: 3.5, 3.62 in Economics (3.8 since sophomore) and 3.3 in Mathematics
GRE: V152+Q165, will retake in September

Math Courses: Calculus I-III (B,B,A); Linear Algebra and Differential Equations (B+); Intro to Analysis/Proofs (A-); Applied Linear Algebra (B+); Master level Financial Mathematics (C+);

Master level Honors Analysis I-II (at baby Rudin's level) (B-,B-); Master level Theory of Statistics (A,A-); Introduction to Stochastic Process (A); Grad Probability and Measure Theory (Using Durrett's text) (this fall)

Retaking Honors Analysis I this fall