Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation

antortoise

Hi guys:

I am Antony, applying for 2017 fall phd right now. Thanks for any help!

Type of undergraduate: Top 25 university in USA, econ rank may be 40+ something.

Graduate: I am enrolled in a program which allows me to earn MA as well as my BA, so I am a grad student too.

GRE: 158+170+AW unknown, i just took it weeks ago

Math courses: A or A- in calculus, differential equations, linear algebra, B/B- in real analysis, B+ in probability

Econ courses: all A in econ courses except international trade(B)

Grad Course: A in a phd second year Game Theory class, A in other graduate level classes, except a B+ in macro theory

Research Experience: doing a directed research in auction theory and bayesian persuasion right now

SOP: standard

Recommendation:

(1) from my professor in Game Theory class, also instructor of my directed research

(2) a professor whom I am working as a grader for, I got an A+ in his class so he gave the chance to work for him

this professor only writes for 6 schools, so I find another :

(3) professor who teaches me econometrics right now, and I am earning an A in that class

(4) instructor for graduate level micro, I am the best student in his class.

Writing Sample: a health econ related paper, using method PSM-DID

Interest: Micro theory, Mechanism design

Applying to: UCB,UCLA,UCSD,stanford, yale, princeton,mit, caltech, duke, brown, cornell, northwestern, Upenn, Columbia, NYU, Rochester

concerns:

(1) Low score in math courses, I am not good at math

(2) Low score in graduate macro, which instructor ruined my interest of learning so I kinda gave up.

(3) Recommenders except the first one, do not promise me to write a strong recommendation letter.(in other words, their reference would be objective)

Really appreciate any comments!:distracted: