Urch Forums

Input Requested

WhiteLake

I am in the process of applying for PhD programs in economics as well as a few in public policy. I attended a city university in New York, was part of an honors program, and did a double major in econ and political science. I excelled in econ classes (intro and intermediate micro, macro) as well as econ electives and did well in math courses (econometrics, calc 1 and 2, mathematics for economists). I worked as a research assistant at at well known budget policy think tank and currently work in economic consulting. GRE scores are 760Q and 610V with 5.5 writing. Recommendations are good, from phd professors.

My questions(s): How competitive am I at econ programs? I figure I am not in the running at the top ten. Any idea? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Type of Undergrad: Top Public University in US (New York CUNY system), Econ major, Poli Sci major, honors program

Undergrad GPA: 3.7/4.00 ( 3.7 Econ, 3.6 Math)

Type of Grad: none

Grad GPA: n/a

GRE: Q 160, V 160, AWA 5.5

Math Courses:

Calc I (B+), Calc II (A+), Econ Statistics (A-), Econometrics (A+), Math for Economists (B)

Econ Courses:

Intro Micro, Intro Macro, Intermediate Micro, Intermediate Macro, Law and Econ, Money and Banking, Labor Market Econ, Econ Statistics, Urban Econ, Honors Thesis Project, Math for Economists

Other Courses:

Letters of Recommendation: two undergraduate professors, think tank director

Research Experience:

Undergraduate Honors Thesis, graduated with high honors, RA for undergrad professor postgrad on MacArthur grant, RA at budget policy think tank for two years, economic consulting

Teaching Experience:

Research Interests: behavioral econ, public finance, public policy, econometrics

SOP: in progress

Concerns:

Low Math GRE, Math coursework

Do you think it's possible to take more math classes and then apply next year? (ex. take classes while working, pursue a Master's degree first, etc)