Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation

orangeade

Hello everyone,

Finally made an account for my own profile evaluation! Please share what you think, thanks.

Type of Undergrad: Top 20 Econ School (US), BS in Economics w/ an additional major in Math; Graduated two years ago; After Undergrad, I worked as a pre-doctoral RA at a Top 10 Econ School.

Undergrad GPA: 3.58 (University Honors), Economics Major GPA: 3.7, Math Major GPA: 3.7 (retook two math courses though, more explanations below)

Econ Courses: Introduction to Econ (B), Intermediate Micro (A), Intermediate Macro (A), Econometrics I-II (B,B), Honors Thesis (A,A), a few elective courses (A's and B's); Took while working as a pre-doctoral RA: Phd Micro (A), Phd Macro (A), Phd Metrics (A)

Math Courses: Calc I-Ill (A,A,A), Multivariate Calc/Analysis (A), Introduction to Proof ©, Matrix Theory/Algebra (C, and B after a retake), Discrete Math (B), Differentials Equation (B), Math Probability (A), Algebraic Structures (A), Real Analysis I (C, and A after retake), Real Analysis II (A), Grad-level Real Analysis (A), Grad-level Introduction to Lebesgue Integration/Measure Theory (A), Grad-level Topology (A), Linear Algebra (A), Research in Math (A)

Other Courses: Courses from Statistics departments- Introduction to Probability Theory (B), Statistical Inference (A), Stochastic Processes (A)

Concerns about grades: In addition to my average GPA, I have two Ws on not so relevant courses and an F on an irrelevant gen-ed course. In addition to a personal issue, I suffered from depression, which I did not know it was depression until very late in my college career. But I've tried my best to overcome it and got straight As during my last year when my academic life was the most rigorous.