Urch Forums

Best way to make up for lack of mathematics at Oxford undergrad?

ssc14

I'm a UK student, and in October I'll be starting my BA in History and Economics at Oxford.

For those that are not familiar with the programme, I'll be able to take the same economics options as PPE and E&M students, but combining them with a few history courses rather than politics, philosophy or management.

Although it's early, I have recently begun to consider an economics PhD, however I realise that my BA is not particularly quantitative. I'm hoping to apply to top 10-20 schools in the US, since funding is not so generous in the UK and the placement records of even the best programmes here aren't amazing.

Would a good performance on a UK Master's programme at Oxbridge/LSE/UCL be sufficient to make up for my lack of maths background? What else could I do to demonstrate my quantitative skills?

Thank you for your time :)

Good performance at a quantitatively rigorous masters programme (like LSE's EME) will definitely be a positive signal, and may help allay some concerns. However, it's unlikely that you'll do well in such a rigorous programme if you have not take any math courses, as graduate economics is significantly more mathematical than whatever you'll learn during your undergraduate studies.

You can consider doing a Graduate Diploma in Mathematics before attending a rigorous masters programme. There are a number of them being offered in the UK. The cheapest one, and the one I'm most familiar with, is the Graduate Diploma in Mathematics from UOL (see here). You'll take 4 semester-long courses (or equivalent) over the course of 1 year. There are also 2 half-courses in statistics under this diploma, which is quite rigorous, since they use Casella and Berger.

Lastly, it goes without saying that you ought to source out RA opportunities in Economics during your time in Oxford.