Urch Forums

Committing to a school

yayecon

Decision day is a little bit over a month away. Unfortunately, I did not get into my top choice so the decision about where to attend is not a clear-cut one. Thus, I'm seeking advice. What do you think are important factors, general or specific, to consider when choosing the school you want to attend? What should I ask during Virtual Visit Days and meetings with faculty? Do you recommend I speak to anyone besides the faculty?

As an undergrad, I might overestimate/underestimate the importance of certain factors or entirely missing them, so I would love to hear others' thoughts and personal experiences about what they think is relevant. Many thanks!

Here is some of the advice my advisors have given as I've been going through the process:

1. Think of the relative rankings of schools in terms of tiers. That is, don't get obsessed at the difference between a school ranked 19 and a school ranked 21. There are far more similarities than differences between most programs.

2. However, as you go further down into the rankings, research fit between yourself and the department becomes far more important. Don't pick a school that only trains micro labor economists to go and study macro at, for instance. Ideally, you want a school that gives you a bit of flexibility in terms of what you can research, as your interests may change.

3. Look at who the advisors tend to be in programs in your field(s) of interest, and the median placement of students. Do you like the placement? Do you like what the common advisors research in the program?