Urch Forums

Fall 2023 Profile Evaluation

lnfurch

Hello everyone,

My situation is a little bit different from other common applicants:

My Profile:

Bachler's GPA: 3.0, Major: Computer Science

Master's GPA: 3.6, Major: Computer Science

Current PhD's GPA: 3.8, Major: Computer Science, Area: Theory (mainly Combinatorics)

Current PhD program (around 50-70 in the U.S., also has a 50-ish Eco PhD Program)

GRE: Q-170

Econ course: I'm going to take PhD level micro-econ theory next semester and looking forward to getting an A.

Math course: calculus/linear algebra from my undergrad (but have a good knowledge of math tools, I did my phd research mainly on stochastic optimization problems)

Research Experience:

3 papers in theoretical computer science, 2 papers in application area (data mining).

Research Interests:

micro-econ theory: matching, allocation and mechanism design

Applying to:

not sure yet, but say T30-100 world wide.

e.g. U Zurich, Bonn, Aalto, U Geneva, etc.

Teaching experience:

1 course in CS, 1 TA in CS

Recommendation letters:

2-3 from CS/Math (strong, coauthors and advisor), 1 from Econ (not sure yet)

Concerns:

I started to get interested in micro-econ theory during my current study, and I'm planning to continue my study on econ problems after obtaining my PhD in CS. I have read several papers in micro-econ field and know exactly what kinds of problems that I'm interested in. My main concern is that my background in economics is weak. I have several Profs in my mind since I'm quite interested in their research, but I'm not sure if they would consider me as a strong/weak candidate. I would love to hear any comments and suggestions. Your help would be much appreciated!

Edited by lnfurch