Urch Forums

Europe/international - Econ/Public policy/International Finance

kevin j

Ten years ago I graduated with a BA in French and proceeded to be a vagabond/hippy/wandering monk-eventually turned massage therapist. Now I'm looking to go back to school and get a masters. What I most like to do is look at the world from a birds-eye-view and understand how all the moving pieces fit together. Subjects that interest me most include: International Finance, Economics & Public Policy. I'm not that interested in getting quantitative with the Econ.

I really like the sound of this MPA program at Columbia:  https://bulletin.columbia.edu/sipa/concentrations/ifep/

But I'm not interested in spending 200k to get my masters. 

I also wouldn't mind at all going international. I'm fluent in French and passable in Spanish, but I'm open to any program anywhere in the world. 

Other things I like:

- Low cost

- Flexibility to take the classes I'd like

- Strong faculty/well renown university

I don't know how much it will hurt me that I have not been working in a relevant field nor do I have a relevant undergrad degree. I have not taken the GRE but if I do, my scores will likely be excellent (SAT was 1470 for reference). My undergrad GPA was 3.8. I also never even took an econ course in undergrad, although I've self-taught far beyond econ 101. 

Any thoughts/advice?

Kevin, your story is not dissimilar to mine (BA in English, traveled outside of the US for about four years).

I think I understand where you might be coming from--perhaps looking for a way to make a solid contribution to the world and having some educational credentials to help.

Problem is, many master's programs, especially the competitive ones, will want someone who is a safe bet, someone with a track record of doing what they're interested in and who has a clear vision of where he wants to be after graduating.