Urch Forums

Phd in econ evaluation, am I aiming too high?

Hennnnn

First of all, thank you for taking your time!

Type of Undergrad: I’m an 3rd year undergrad international applicant studying in a low rank USA state U( Around 80) due to financial constraints

Undergrad GPA: 3.73 (major 3.87)

Type of Grad: 

Grad GPA:

GRE:166V/168Q/4W, 97%/91%/54%

Math Courses:

grad: real analysis I(A)

undergrad: measure theory (P, due to altered rubric), intro to analysis, honor calc 3, finite math structure, (B+, B+, B due to a documented fracture in my first semester), honor calc 4(A), probability theory (A), survey of prob and stat (A)

Econ Courses:

grad: first year micro (A,B+), metrics(A, to be taken) game II(A, skipped I), labor II(A), behavioral finance (A), risk management (A-), quantitative finance (A)

undergrad: interm micro(A), interm macro(A-), independent research (A), writing in econ(satisfactory), game (A), matching theory (A-), thinking strategically (B+ due to wifi…not explained in my apps)

Other Courses: nearly none

Letters of Recommendation: 1 strong letter from Labor AP who I RA for, 2 fine course letters from two micro-theory giants( who taught me grad micro1/game 2), 1 from grad director to tell I’m exceptional 

Research Experience:Research Experience: little, 1 winter research in Cornell cicer, 1 three-month high-energy physics research, 1 in labor Econ(started this summer with one of my letter writers), 1 been one and half year in experimental game theory. Nearly no output out of them.

Teaching Experience: a lot, I spent more than half of my spare time in tutoring math/physics/Chem/cs/econ to earn my living, TAed for 4 courses in math&econ)2are upper level. Founded two online non-profit programs in teaching undergrad & grad econ, one with friends from Harvard/mit and the other one with two profs from China. 5K people attended the lectures