Urch Forums

Profile Evaluation and Guidance Request

Holan95

Hi Urch forum members,

I am currently an economist at the BLS, but want to transition to a career in academia and am looking at economics PhD programs. I know that economics PhDs are very quantitative and my math background is poor, so I am retaking Calc II to demonstrate my ability curranty to do the math needed. Assuming I do well, I plan to take more math classes (Linear, Calc III, Probability, Analysis), to continue demonstrating my math abilities. I am interested in political economy, economic history and institutional economics, specifically as to the role of government in economic regulation in the post-WWII period, particularly in Eastern Bloc countries, and very much see myself in an academic career doing research on this issue and many others related to it. Furthermore, I would enjoy developing models to explain the economic effects of those policies to gain a better perspective relative to neoclassical economics. I am  looking for a more qualitative economics PhD program, if such a thing exists, and am interested in post-Keynesian and a more heterodox approach. I am looking at the New School, UMKC, UCSC, GWU, SOAS, UMass Amherst, and American. Does an economics PhD makes sense for me given what I want to do, or should I look for a PhD in Public Policy or Political Science? I want to primarily view the issues I am interested in through an economic lens, with the political effects being of secondary importance. Furthermore, given my profile, am I even remotely competitive for any PhD program, assuming good grades in further math classes? 

Thanks for your help!

PROFILE:

Type of Undergrad: BA in Economics and International Relations (double major) at Occidental College

Undergrad GPA: 3.35 Overall, 3.56 Econ,

Type of Grad: MA in International Economics and Finance from JHU SAIS

Grad GPA: 3.3

GRE: 156 V 163 Q 5.0 A (took in 2018, will retake)