Urch Forums

What is a good score?

darklighter2930

Im a college Freshman intrested in becoming a Lawyer. Right now I am "doubled up" on most of my classes and will graduate with a BS about a year maybe a year in a half before the standard four year time period it takes. I just took a practice LSAT not knowing what was on it or knowing what is was about (just knowing I needed to take it) and I got a 144 on it. Most college I see that offer Law require score ranging from 155 to 170, is 144 really that bad or is it just the average?:eek:

• 2 months later...
144 won't get you into anywhere worth going to (at least if you want to get a decent job), but it is a very good start. My first practice exam (with no studying prior) was somewhere around there, and I got a 167. Most people that I know improve dramatically from studying for this exam. Mostly because the time pressures are significantly more than other standardized tests. I would think you could score over 160 with effort, and that will get you into a choice of good schools.
  • Like 1

• 1 month later...

Yea 144 is total crap. (No offense) But you are only a freshman, so you have plenty of time. I started studying summer after my sophomore year. I think that has a lot to do with a high score- how much time you are willing to put into studying.

If you want to go anywhere in the top 20, you should seriously consider taking a prep course. They are well worth the money. I went from a 154 (my first "official" non official test) to a 169 with TestMasters (www.testmasters180.com), and everyone I know did very well going through them. All of the instructors are 95th percentile and above-- unlike Kaplan, where a homeless man off the street who's never taken the LSAT can teach a class.

• 2 months later...