Urch Forums

scores

bookgov

I met with an admissions counselor at a good school and she said anything over 600 is okay, although obviously the higher the better. I think that a 650 is just about as good as any school could hope for in a student with an all around solid application.

Great job! I'm too chicken to call just yet....

Congrats on your score, Bookgov! Thats really good!

I did horribly. I was in the 60's, percentile-wise, and not above 600. (though almost)

For me, I just hope that schools pay more attention to the fact that I've been in law school for 3 years and working in the field of law for 1 year...so, my head was out of literature for a long time. I studied, though!! And I usually do well on these tests!!! Humph. I was pretty disappointed. :( I would have taken it again if I had known my score with enough time to schedule the December exam.

I did talk to a friend at Emory who told me that people at Emory had scores similar to mine, and they won't pay *that* much attention to a lower score, if the rest of the application is fabulous. (which I *hope* they think mine is!! Hope, hope, hope!!)

The other thing to remember is that some schools do not require the subject test -- Duke, Columbia, etc. That makes me feel better about the whole thing. :)

i scored 680 (91%), but i was really mad, because i was shooting for above 700. also, right after i walked out of the room, on the drive home, i realized the answers to four questions that i left blank. AAAAARGH! i know i shouldn't be let down, but unlike most people applying, and most people on this and other forums, i have a sub-par GPA. also, unlike many applicants, i do not have an MA, nor do i have any type of post-undergrad experience. so, really, a high GRE was something i was hoping to use to compensate for these other failings.