Urch Forums

Expecting 1400 got 1220 :(

shwetamalik

This was my second attempt on GRE. Had prepared fully,left no stone unturned...Gave the GRe on 20th oct and got 1220 Q-740 V-480... What to do now?? I have completed my engineering in electronics and communication.wish to apply for UCSD,and thought would get a good score to apply to it.Never got so low even on my practice tests.was always above 1350.So kind of disheartened with my score.

Can i get a good university with such a score.I plan to apply for MS electrical with specialization in embedded systems.VLSI

1220 is a decent score so i guess you will get a decent university because gre score is not the only deciding factor.if you have a good CGPA and a well written SOP then you will definitely get a good university so no need to worry about it.you had written that you never got below 1300 in practice tests.can you tell what went wrong because i am also giving gre next month and any tips would be welcome.this is my first attempt and i am extremely nervous:(

hi rids,

my score let me down in a way that i had done anything and everything it takes to prepare for the gre.There was hardly any material which i had not done..I guess the GRE is a really uncertain exam.please note my point MOCK tests are extremely deceptive,hard to depend on them.there are people who have scored more than what they consistently scored on there mocks and vis-versa too.In my case,i messed up a bit in the maths section where i was stuck on a ques and lost some time on the last ones..As og now i have reconciled with my score,so will create my application to create a mark..:):)

THE BEST TIP IS MENTAL CONDITION IS VEry IMPORtant while giving the exam.STAY CALM AND COOL...being nervous is a mistake i made on my first attempt on GRE...so please keep calm....exam condition is very diff....keep revising your wordlist..give lots of practice tests..other than dat if u have time den do bigbook(u get ques from there on the actual gre).