Urch Forums

Waterloo vs UCSD MS CS

goms9

Hi,

I'm a new joinee here.

I got admits for MS in CS from Waterloo n UCSD for MS (CS).

my area of interest is systems/networks

My dilemma:

1)Waterloo is giving me funded offer upto 35k/yr.

Its probably the best in Canada.

2) UCSD systems/networks group is renowned and among the top 10 in US.

But UCSD is offering no financial aid.

I am an international student and would not able to afford UCSD without a loan. I have some past internship's in area of systems,there is slim chance of ra after 2-3 quarters though no guarantee.

Some past posts suggest that Canadian univs are good option's as compared to US.

But I am not sure what will be Waterloo standing against UCSD?

Secound, Can somebody comment on jobs/salaries MS ( Canada Vs US)?

Thirdly, If I decide to go for phd after MS which univ seems better choice?

Thanks

I think UCSD is much better in terms of future job. The salary for MS in Canada is about 50K but Google in the US pays about 80K. If you want to pursue a PhD later both schools are good but it is a higher chance that you do a good job at UCSD. To correct you, UCSD is ranked 16 and it is not among the top 10. You can pay your loan easily by finding a good job after graduating from UCSD.

The weather in Waterloo is harsh but San Diego has almost the best weather throughout the US. Waterloo is one of the top 2 in Canada but I think it will be among top 30 if it is compared with the US schools.

Regarding salary, I see that feyvazi is correct that it is significantly less in Canada (especially when factoring the currency conversion):

PayScale - Salary Search: Software Engineer (Canada)

PayScale - Software Developer Salary, Average Salaries (USA)

Something like 40% of Canada's doctors and 25% of financiers and IT professionals eventually immigrate to the U.S.