Urch Forums

MS CS (Data Mining) University Suggestion

beeb

Hi all,

I graduated from a NIT in India in Computer Science and Engineering (B Tech) with CGPA 7.5 on a scale of 10. I have done a research project from IIT Guwahati in Data Mining and my paper has been published in the proceedings of an international conference. After graduation, I didn't join any company despite getting offers and got involved in the Open Source Software movement. I also have worked for a South Asian One Laptop Per Child Project. I remain very active on the internet on Open Source matters and I maintain a well visited blog. I have done a couple of software projects as a freelancer after graduating. My another area of research interest is natural language processing and I have done a research study in this field but I haven't completed any project or paper in Natural Language proceesing.

My extra curricular activities records are very good and while in college, I have completed about 3-5 minor projects (one research, other programming).

I want to apply for MS in CS for Fall 2009. Some universities' deadline have already passed. Could you please suggest me some universities that are safe, some ambitious and some moderate? Financial aid is an important factor, and I'd love to get into a good university with financial aid.

A quick reply will be of great help as I am running late for applications.

Thanks.

Some universities that I've been thinking are:

Arizona State

Brown

CMU

Case Western

Clemson

Cornell

Gatech

LSU Baton Rouge

Oregon SU

Rochester University

Rutgers

SUNY SB

Syracuse

Tennessee SU

U of Arizona

U of Cincinnati

UFL

U of Minnesota

UNC Charlotte

U of Pittsburg

U of Rochester

USC

U of Tennessee

UT Arlington

UT Austin

UT Dallas

Utah State

Ohio State

Penn State

UIC

University of Missouri in Columbia

Vanderbilt