Urch Forums

How I prepared for the CS GRE

extempore

[incidentally: I received my score mailing. I got 62 questions right and 8 wrong, for a raw score of 60. I am impressed that 4-5% of the test takers are doing better than that. Gives me hope for the future.]

People asked in the earlier thread where I posted my score about my preparation, background, etc. Here you go:

I graduated from UCSD in 1996 with a BSCS and a 3.9 major GPA. I get the impression that in those days the average CS curriculum was more rigorous. Among the programming projects I completed were: writing a debugger in 80286 assembly, writing a preemptively multitasking operating system in C, and writing an optimizing pascal compiler in C++. Point being that I worked hard for that degree.

That said, 12 years had elapsed and I hadn't touched CS theory since graduation, except to the degree that I've internalized it. So I was happy to see that three weeks of prep took me to the 95th percentile.

Here is my preparation advice:

1) The amount of material that MIGHT be covered is overwhelming. If you are conflicted about where to allocate your study time, realize that there is one source that is by FAR the most valuable in revealing what sort of questions you are likely to face, and that is the official GRE practice test. If you stray too far from the subject allocation and depth revealed by that test, you can easily find yourself spending days studying material relevant to a maximum of one test question.

2) Take the practice test under timed conditions. Use your results to guide your study. Take it again. Study again. Then take it again. At this point if there are any problems that don't come naturally (and not because you should have memorized the answer by now) then stop studying on an ad hoc basis and read something comprehensive.